GEIJUTSU DOJO GRAND PRIX Gold・Shilver・Bronze Prize

  • Gold Prize

    Booth NO204
    Artist NameTeam Potato
    ProfileIn 2001, Jaga Ichiro and Akane Han formed Team Potato in order to submit artwork to GEIJUTSU DOJO GRAND PRIX Their installation work, which consisted of the Jaga’s painting and Akane Han’s manga, won the gold medal. Now they do not work as a unit, but as individual artists. Note: Jaga means potato in Japanese.

    Jaga Ichiro…
    Jaga Ichiro was born in Mie in 1976. He graduated from the Graphic Design Course, Nagoya Designers Gakuin Colege. Weird looking but somehow cute characters can be seen in his paintings, which remind us of human body fluids and secretions. He creates motifs that have a lot to with his affection. His fantasy world is continuously developing.

    Akane Han…
    Akane Han was born in Aichi in 1979. She graduated from the graphic Design Course, Nagoya Designers Gakuin College. She completed a special course in the Department of Media Art, Kaywon School of Art and Design in Korea.。
  • Silver Prize

    Booth NO195
    Artist NameSetsuko Miyashiro
    ProfileMiyashiro was born in Kanagawa in 1974. She graduated from the Department of Oil Painting, Musashino Art University. She won the silver medal at GEIJUTSU DOJO GRAND PRIX with a dynamic portrait that seemed to scoop out the insides of the subject. She stopped painting for a while, but she is now painting at her own pace.
  • Bronze Prize

    Booth NO174
    Artist NameUnko 3taro
    ProfileUnko 3taro (Santaro) was born in Tokyo in 1979, and was raised in Nagoya. He graduated from the Department of Photography, Osaka University of Arts. While he was a college student, he won the bronze medal at GEIJUTSU DOJO GRAND PRIX with so-called Sentimental Unko Manga (“sentimental poop manga”), an online manga page. He then worked as a studio photographer and also as an assistant at the university. In 2004, he moved to Dortmund, where he studied conceptual photography at Fachhochschule Dortmund. He has been living in Berlin since 2005.